My Intro to Mud Run Training

muddy-shoes-4-1433316I like to think I’m a little athletic. I go on walks, I enjoy runs occasionally, and during the warmer months, I hike wherever I can with my two dogs. That being said, I’m not ready for an obstacle course race, or an OCR if I want to sound like less of a rookie. When I really look at myself, I’m not in shape for more than the walks I go on. I spend my days behind a computer screen writing, or working at a museum and, while I was a rough and tumble tyke, I haven’t been active enough to do a OCR in years.

With my husband in the military, he’s more than happy to help. When he spends months out in the cold and snow for training, I think he’s finding the thought of me training for even 3.1 miles of mud hilarious. He’s agreed to help, but I’m a little scared of what his type of training entails. The last time I encouraged him to work out with me, I found myself with a rucksack strapped to my back, hiking up the side of a steep hill in the middle of the Texas heat. Since I know he’s a big believer of tough love, I’m not sure I want to jump into the rough stuff yet.

Instead, I started doing my own research, and here’s what I’ve learned from the web.**

  1. Get ready to do more than running. 
    This should be a given, especially since it’s an obstacle course, but this is the first thing I need to add to my workout routine. Ditch jumping , bear crawls, and rope climbs are all events I expect to see, so I plan to add weight lifting and yoga to my list of things to do. Weight lifting for the strength, and yoga for the balance.
  2. Get ready to get dirty.
    Of course, another given, but I don’t go running when it’s wet or muddy out, cause I’m lazy like that. I need to expose myself to different environments if I plan on keeping up with my team. Since I live in Washington, and it’s STILL the rainy season (and let me tell you, as a Texas girl, I’m not enjoying the constant wet weather, when I’m used to dry Hill Country heat), there will be plenty of chances for me to get used to being uncomfortable while I run.
  3. Eat better.
    This is going to be the hardest part for me. While I don’t do a lot of fast food places, I love my pastries, carbs and occasional salty snacks. I don’t eat nearly enough protein, and I could stand to have more veggies in place of cookies. On top of all that, I drink tea and coffee like it’s water. I can’t get enough of my earl gray, jasmine pearl, or green ginger tea. Luckily I’ve been cutting down to one or two cups of coffee a day, depending on how much I’m writing. I should really focus on drinking more water, especially on my writing days, and just eat healthier over all.

I have till June 24th to get my training done. As of this moment in time I’m a 5’4″, 165 lb, writer, with a body fat percentage of I don’t even know what. I’ve got a long way to go, but here’s hoping this change to my lifestyle sticks long enough for it to become a habit!

 

 

**Now I’m not a personal trainer, clearly, and most of these pointers are all things I read about online or heard from my husband. I don’t recommend doing any major changes to your diet or workout schedule if you haven’t spoken to someone first, and I plan consulting my local gym, so I don’t hurt myself. If you’d like to do an OCR, or if you’re training for any sort of race or triathlon for the first time, please talk to your doctor, and someone who knows what they’re doing. 

Leave a Reply

