My Love/Hate Relationship with Editing

I hate editing. I really do. When you’ve got other ideas chomping at the bit to get on the page the last thing you want to do is spend ANOTHER round of rewrites on your current project.

That being said, it has to be done. Putting out unedited work for me means that I’m not taking pride in my writing. But when do you call it quits? When is enough enough?

Here’s my method.

After finishing a first draft, either by hand or on the computer and no matter the length, I let myself do 3 rounds of edits. The first one, I look for character inconsistencies, the second, story hiccups, and lastly, I do grammar and spelling. Then I pass it on to my beta readers. Depending on the size of the work, I’ll give it to one to three people for a read over, and after that, I allow myself one more round of edits before I call it a day.

Why do I do it this way?

I’m a nit picker with bad grammar. If I don’t limit myself to four edits, I spend more time worrying about if a project sounds good or not, than I allow myself to enjoy the writing.

Not only that, but writers have a habit of working a novel or story into the ground, and I’m no exception to this. No matter how many times I rewrite a piece, there’s always another way it can be said, another flaw I can fix, another word I can cut. After awhile, it becomes redundant.

So how do you edit your work? What’s your method to make your novel ready for the public? Comment below and let me know.

Leave a Reply

